Secure Messaging: Frequently Asked Questions

Document created by user.oxriBaJeN4 Employee on Sep 7, 2015Last modified by user.oxriBaJeN4 Employee on Aug 28, 2019
Version 7Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

Administrator Settings

 

Q:Some end users are unable to log on to the Secure Messaging portal. Why is this?
A:Ensure the recipient is clicking on the link in the Secure Message notification they've received, as there is no generic logon URL. Point them towards the Secure Messaging: Troubleshooting Log On Issues page for full details. Administrators can manually set passwords and enable logons for Secure Messaging recipients under the Directories | External Directories menu item and selecting a domain's user.
Q:Are there any limits to message expiration?
A:Yes. The maximum message extension is limited to the maximum retention period for the customer account.
Q:Why have the TLS options been removed from "Send Secure" in Mimecast for Outlook?
A:Based on feedback we received, options like "Enforce Encryption" and "Best Route" were found to be confusing and hard to understand. Additionally the ability to use TLS was seen as an administrator decision, rather than something the end user should have to decide. Administrators can configure policies to use Enforced / Opportunistic TLS, which negates the need for these functions in Mimecast for Outlook. The "Send Secure" button is exclusively for Secure Messaging functions.
Q:Are there any limitations on configuring the Mimecast for Outlook "Send Securely" drop-down?
AYou can configure these policy options, and select which definitions are available in line with the specific needs of your users.
Q:Can the items in the Mimecast for Outlook "Send Securely" drop-down menu be manually reordered?
A:No. At present, this is not possible.
Q:Does message recall expire the original message, or all replies as well?
A:Secure Messaging only recalls the original message. The concept of a conversation chain doesn’t exist in Secure Messaging. Therefore the sender can recall their message but replies are not affected. Take the following example:
  1. UserA sends a message to UserB and UserC.
  2. UserB replies all to the message.
  3. UserA recalls the message from Sent Items.
  4. The original message will be recalled from the Inbox of UserB and UserC.
  5. However the replied message will still display all the contents of the original message for the recipients (UserA / UserC) as well as in the senders Sent Items (UserB).
Q:Can I set a password for the recipient of a Secure Message ?
A:Yes. Open the domain's user in the Directories | External Directories menu item in the Administration Console. Specify and confirm a password in the "Permissions" section, and ensure the "Allow Secure Messaging Logon" option is enabled.

 

User Capabilities

 

Q:Why can a user only extend message expiry once?
A:Ultimately your administrator has control over what their users can do. For example, if they set a policy that specified messages should be expired after one day, but the user had the ability to constantly override this, users would be able circumvent the administrator defined policy.
Q:After a message has been recalled, can I grant access again?
A:Once a message has been recalled, a new message must be created if the sender wishes to provide the information again to the recipient.
Q:What is the session timeout duration for the Secure Messaging portal?
A:The web portal times out after 60 minutes.
Q:When I log in to the Secure Messaging portal, why is a message open?
A:This happens when a user selects to open the portal from a link in a Secure Messaging notification. If users login to the portal without following a link, a message will not be open.
Q:Why doesn't the Deleted folder refresh straight away?
A:When a message is deleted from the Secure Messaging portal, the message may not show up straight away in the Deleted folder. This is a known limitation. It may take 15 seconds or more for the message(s) to be ordered into the correct list.
Q:When I send a message from the Secure Messaging portal, the message is shown in my Inbox AND my Sent Items. Why?
A:This is because of an account level setting called 'Send BCC to Mail Server’. This can be enabled or disabled at the Mimecast account level in the Administration | Account | Account Settings menu of the Administration Console.
Q:Is there a limit to the number of Secure Messages that can be sent?
A:From Secure Messaging 2.0 onwards, each licensed Secure Messaging user can send an unlimited number of messages to up to 500 unique recipients per month. If the 500 limit is reached, an additional “bulk sender” license pack can be purchased to increase the limit. Contact your Account Manager for more details.

 

See Also...

 

1 person found this helpful

Attachments

    Outcomes