Service Monitor: Managing Subscribers

Document created by user.oxriBaJeN4 Employee on Sep 9, 2015Last modified by user.oxriBaJeN4 Employee on Jul 21, 2016
Version 9Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

You can manage the users, called Service Monitor Subscribers, who get notified via email or SMS when an alert is issued. These users are typically administrators responsible for the efficient running of the Mimecast account and internal email systems.

These subscriber settings are overridden by any alert notifications configured in the Configure Alerts tab.

Adding a Subscriber

 

To add a subscriber:

  1. Access the Service Monitor. See Accessing the Service Monitor for further detail.
  2. Click on the Manage Subscribers tab. A list of subscribers is displayed.
  3. Click on the Add New Subscriber button.
  4. Complete the Subscriber Information section as follows:

    FieldDescription
    NameSpecify the subscriber's full name.
    EmailSpecify the subscriber's email address. This should be the primary email address in your Active Directory. It will be used to log in to the Service Monitor, and to receive email alert notifications.
    Alternative EmailSpecify an alternate email address for the subscriber. This will receive alerts if they cannot be sent to the primary address. This should not be an internal company email address, in case the company mail server is offline.
    Mobile Number

    Specify the subscriber's mobile number. This enables them to receive SMS alerts. Enter the phone number in the standard international format (+xx to specify the country code, followed by your mobile number without the leading zero, and with no spaces). For example, +31653123456.

    Subscribers are not charged to receive SMS alerts.

    PasswordEnter a password to enable the subscriber to access the Service Monitor. This password does not affect any Active Directory or cloud password.
    Confirm PasswordReenter the password entered in the Password field.
  5. Complete the Set Alerts for Queues / Services section as follows:

    OptionDescription
    EmailIf selected, the subscriber receives alerts to the email address specified in the Subscriber Information section.
    Alternative EmailIf selected, the subscriber receives alerts to the alternate email address specified in the Subscriber Information section.
    MobileIf selected, the subscriber receives alerts to the mobile number specified in the Subscriber Information section.
    Only After EscalationIf selected, the subscriber is only alerted if the number of previous alerts for the service equals the Escalation Level value in the alert's configuration.
  6. Click the Save Queues button.
If you've more than one journal / directory service configured (e.g. two journaling services) all alerts for these services are sent to the subscriber.

Changing a Subscriber

 

To change a subscriber:

  1. Access the Service Monitor. See Accessing the Service Monitor for further detail.
  2. Click on the Manage Subscribers tab. A list of subscribers is displayed.
  3. Click on the Edit button next to the subscriber's name.
  4. Amend the subscribers details and alert options as required.
  5. Click the Save Queues button.

 

Unlocking a Locked Subscriber

 

If a subscriber locks their account, you can unlock it. For example, an account is locked if a subscriber fails to log in five times in any ten minute period (e.g. by forgetting their cloud password).

 

To unlock a subscriber account:

  1. Accessthe Service Monitor. See Accessing the Service Monitor for further detail.
  2. Click on the Manage Subscribers tab. A list of subscribers is displayed.
  3. Click on the Edit button next to the subscriber's name.
  4. Deselect the Account Locked Out option.
    SM_-_Subscriber_locked_out.png
  5. Click the Save Queues button.

 

Removing a Subscriber

 

To remove a subscriber:

  1. Access the Service Monitor. See Accessing the Service Monitor for further detail.
  2. Click on the Manage Subscribers tab. A list of subscribers is displayed.
  3. Click on the Delete button next to the subscriber's name. A confirmation message is displayed.
  4. Click the OK button. The subscriber is removed.

Attachments

    Outcomes