Mailbox Folder Replication

Document created by user.oxriBaJeN4 Employee on Sep 10, 2015Last modified by user.oxriBaJeN4 Employee on Mar 17, 2016
Version 4Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

The Mailbox Folder Replication feature continuously extracts folder and message meta-data from Microsoft Exchange mailboxes, and submits this to the Mimecast platform. Once a user’s mailbox has been successfully replicated they will be able to access their Mimecast archive in the same familiar, structured format as they use every day in their email client.

Folders_workflow_corp.png

Usage

 

Continuity

 

During an Exchange server outage users will be able to use Mimecast applications to view the most recent snapshot of their mailbox with its folder structure allowing them to navigate through their folders and messages in a familiar way.

 

Archiving

 

All folder and message meta-data extracted from an Exchange mailbox is kept for the same time period as your email data. So when a message or folder is deleted from an Exchange mailbox it is not deleted in the Mimecast platform.

This allows administrators the ability to manage Exchange storage confidently because users will be able to access deleted messages from their last known folder location using Mimecast applications.

 

Replicated Mailbox Items

 

By default Mailbox Folder Replication will replicate:

  • All folders of type IPF.Note
  • All messages of message class:
    • IPM.Note
    • IPM.Note.MimecastStub
  • Messages sent with the Personal or Private sensitivity option will not be replicated.

Additionally:

  • Items deleted from a folder will be replicated under the deleted items folder in the archive.
  • When a folder is deleted, that folder (and it's contents) will not be replicated underneath the deleted items folder. Instead they will remain in the location it was deleted from when looking at the folder in the archive.
  • If a folder does appear under deleted items in the archive, that folder will have been explicitly created under the deleted items folder in the users mailbox. Anything then dragged to that folder will be replicated. Should anything that was in the created folder then be deleted (and end up in the deleted items folder) that will replicate to the archive and you will end up with 2 copies, 1 in the deleted items folder and 1 in the folder created under deleted items.

 

Next Steps

 

View the Getting Started with Mailbox Folder Replication guide.

Attachments

    Outcomes