Secure Messaging - Lite allows confidential messages to be sent to recipients securely, by encrypting the connection between servers. An SSL encrypted tunnel is used to deliver messages thereby reducing the risk of:
- Alteration of the message's content.
The recipient accesses the message using Mimecast's Secure Messaging Portal. As the recipient requires a log in and password, this ensures that only they can access the message.
Secure Messaging - Lite provides the following benefits:
- Secure messages can be sent from inside Mimecast for Outlook or Mimecast Personal Portal.
- Content Examination Definitions and / or Secure Delivery Definitions can be created to automtically send messages via Secure Messaging - Lite based on the message's content (e.g. the word "Confidential" in the message's subject).
- Recipients can access the Secure Messaging Portal on mobile devices.
- Recipients can mark messages as read and unread.
- Recipients can delete messages from the Secure Messaging Portal. The message will remain in the archive.
- Recipients can send secure responses using the Secure Messaging Portal.
- Recipient notifications, and the Secure Messaging Portal, can be branded if Mimecast's Branding package has been installed.
Using Secure Messaging - Lite
The process for sending a message using Secure Messaging - Lite is:
- Either create a:
- Secure message using Mimecast for Outlook or Mimecast Personal Portal. See the Secure Messaging - Lite: Sending a Secure Message page for details.
- Message that meets the requirements of a Content Examination Definition or Secure Delivery Definitions. See the Setting Up Secure Messaging - Lite page for details.
- The message is passed to the Mimecast Gateway.
- A Secure Messaging - Lite notification, containing a link to the Secure Messaging Portal, is sent to the message's recipient.
- The recipient clicks the notification's link to open and log in to the Secure Messaging Portal.
- The recipient enters their email address and Secure Messaging Portal password.
If this is the first time they've received a secure message, they'll receive a temporary password in a separate notification. When they log in, they'll be prompted to set a new password.
- The message is accessed.