Managing Administrator Roles

Document created by user.oxriBaJeN4 Employee on Nov 22, 2016Last modified by user.oxriBaJeN4 Employee on Apr 7, 2017
Version 13Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

 

Administrator roles are managed using the Role Editor. This allows administrators to:

  • Control the users assigned to roles.
  • Create custom roles in additional to the default roles provided. 

 

Accessing the Role Editor


To access the Role Editor, the administrator must have the correct Security Permissions as detailed below. Without these permissions, the Roles tab is not displayed in the Administration console.

 

To display the Role Editor:

  1. Log in to the Administration Console.
  2. Click on the Administration toolbar button. A menu drop down is displayed.
  3. Click on the Account | Roles menu item.

 

Roles Editor

 

Creating a Custom Role

 

To create a custom role:

  1. Click on the New Role button inside the Role Editor.
  2. Complete the Properties section as follows:

    Field / OptionDescription
    Role NameEnter a name to uniquely identify the role.
    DescriptionEnter a description for the role to help you identify it's purpose.
  3. Select one of the following Security Permissions:

    Field / OptionDescription
    Cannot Manage Roles

    Users added to the role can't access the Roles Editor.

    Manage Application RolesUsers added to the role can access the Roles Editor and manage access to individual Administration Console menu items. Protected areas of Mimecast cannot be modified.
    Manage Application and Protected RolesUsers added to the role can access the Roles Editor, manage access to individual Administration Console menu items,and protected areas of Mimecast.
  4. Select / Deselect the Application Permissions for the role. These can be set at various levels as outlined below, with the three categories of access permissions being:
    • Read: Users can access the menu item, but cannot make any modifications.
    • Edit: Users can modify the elements contained in the menu item.
    • Protected areas: Users have access to the content of email data.
    New Role Permissions

  5. Click on the Save and Exit button.

 

Managing a Custom Role

 

 

You can view which users are assigned to a custom role. Once displayed, you can:

  • Change the role.
  • Copy the role, useful if there is an existing role you can use as a template for creating a custom role.
  • Add users to the role.
  • Remove users from the role.

 

Changing a Custom Role

 

To change a custom role:

  1. Click the Edit Role button inside the Role Editor.
  2. Change the role as required.
  3. Click on the Save and Exit button.

 

Copying a Role

 

To copy a role:

  1. Right click on the role to be copied inside the Role Editor. A popup menu is displayed.
  2. Click on the Copy Role menu item. A custom role is added to the bottom of the list of roles.

 

Adding Users to a Role

You can't allow alias addresses to be used as administrator accounts. If an existing administrator account becomes an alias, the account is removed from the administrator role.

 

To add users to a role:

  1. Right click on the role from inside the Role Editor. A popup menu is displayed.
  2. Click on the Add Users to Role menu item. A list of users is displayed.
  3. Click in the tick box to the left of the users to be added.

    Selecting Users
  4. Click on the Add Selected Users button. The users are added to the role.

A user can only belong to one role at any given time. If a useris added to a second role, the entry in the first role is automatically removed.

 

Removing Users from a Role

 

To remove a user from a role:

  1. Right click on the role from inside the Role Editor. A popup menu is displayed.
  2. Click on the Manage Users for Role menu item.
  3. Right click on the user to be removed.
  4. Click on the Remove User from Role menu item.

 

Deleting a Custom Role

 

To delete a custom role:

  1. Remove all users from the role. You'll be unable to delete the role unless you complete this step.
  2. Click on the role from inside the Role Editor. A popup menu is displayed.
  3. Click on the Remove Role menu item. The role is deleted.

 

See Also...

 

1 person found this helpful

Attachments

    Outcomes