How Does Targeted Threat Protection - URL Protect Work?

Document created by user.oxriBaJeN4 Employee on Sep 7, 2015Last modified by user.oxriBaJeN4 Employee on Oct 30, 2017
Version 8Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

This guide describes what happens when end users click on URL links embedded in inbound mail.

 

Mimecast's Targeted Threat Protection - URL Protection service re-writes the URL links, including those found in .TXT and .HTML attachments. A layered security check is performed on the destination site when users click on a link from an email. What happens next depends on whether the link is considered safe, or harmful.

 

If the link is considered safe, users are redirected to the original destination site without intervention. If the link is considered unsafe, the messages a user receives depends on the settings configured by the administrator.

 

  • If the account has been configured to block all unsafe URLs when they are detected, users are not taken to the URL's destination site. Instead they receive the following notification in their browser:

    User Awareness Access Blocked

    The threat is displayed, but users have no option but to close the browser window. They can click on the Show more link in the dialog for more information on why the link was considered unsafe.

  • If the account has been configured to warn users when an unsafe link is detected, the user is not taken to the original destination. Instead they receive the following notification in their browser, allowing them to choose whether it is safe to proceed:

    User Awareness Harmful Link

    The threat is displayed, but users have the option to click on the Accept Risk and Continue button. Safety Tips will also appear at random within these messages to provide additional security information. Users can click on the Previous or Next buttons to view more tips.

 

See Also...

 

13 people found this helpful

Attachments

    Outcomes