Sync and Recover: Managing Synchronization Tasks

Document created by user.oxriBaJeN4 Employee on Jun 14, 2017Last modified by user.oxriBaJeN4 Employee on Aug 10, 2017
Version 15Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

This guide describes how to create and manage the tasks required to archive your users mailbox data.

 

Applies To...

 

  • Administrators responsible for managing the archiving and recovery of their Exchange's mailbox data.

 

Walkthrough

 

 

Listing Tasks

 

To list your tasks:

  1. Log in to the Administration Console.
  2. Click on the Administration menu item.
  3. Click on the Services | Sync and Recover menu item.

 

Task Statuses

 

Listed tasks display information about the task's configuration and status. The task's status is determined by the success or failure of the individual mailbox synchronization. For example if just one mailbox fails to synchronize, the task's status reflects this. The synchronization task statuses are:

 

StatusDescription
DisabledThe task has been stopped.
EnabledThe task is active, and no errors or warnings have been issued.
Enabled With WarningThe task is active, but at least one warning has been issued. This status is normally due to the mailbox being synchronized by another task.
Enabled With ErrorsThe task is active, but at least one error has been issued.
FailedThe task is active, but all mailboxes are failing. When this occurs, hover over the status to display details about the failures.

 

Creating a Task

 

The synchronization process uses tasks to determine what data to archive. These tasks are created using a wizard that configures the:

  • Server connection
  • Task details
  • Exclusions

 

To create a task:

  1. Click on the Create New Sync Task button. The wizard is displayed at the first step.
  2. Complete the Sync Task Details dialog as follows:

    Field / OptionDescription
    Task NameGive the task a descriptive name to enable it to be easily identified.
    Server ConnectionSelect a server connection from the drop down list.
    If the server connection you require is not in the list, see the Managing Server Connections page for full details on how to create one.
  3. Click on the Next button. The wizard moves to the next step.
  4. Complete the Sync Task Options dialog as follows:

    Field / OptionDescription
    GroupClick on the Lookup button to select a group to define the mailboxes the task will run against. This can be a local Mimecast group or groups (including OUs) from Active Directory.
    Mail

    Select what is to be archived. Click on the toggle switch to change the option's status.

    Disabled task Icon= Disabled
    Task enabled icon= Enabled

    Calendars

    Contacts
    Additional Message ClassesWhen archiving email, we archive the message classes listed in the Sync and Recover: Message Classes page. If you want us to consider an additional class, enter it in this field and click on the Add button.

    This field is only displayed if the "Mail" option is enabled.

         
    Sensitive ItemsIf selected, messages and calendar items marked in Outlook as "Private" or "Confidential" are included in the archive.
  5. Click on the Next button. The wizard moves to the next step.
  6. Complete the Sync Task Exclusions dialog as follows:

    Field / OptionDescription
    Activate ExclusionsIf selected, the fields listed below are displayed, allowing you to specify one or more exception to the data being archived.
    ExcludeSelect a value from the drop down list to exclude a specific day or "All Days" from the archive.
    From / ToSelect a time frame to exclude data from the archive. You can either type into each hour and minute field, or use the arrows above / below a field to move forward / back one digit.
    Select a RegionSelect a region from the drop down list to exclude from the archive.

    If the "Activate Exclusions" option is enabled, date / time / region values must be selected for the task to be created.

         
  7. Click on the Add Exclusion button.
  8. Repeat steps 6 and 7 to add further exclusions.

    Task Exclusions
  9. Click on the Create Sync Task button. The task is created and a summary of it is displayed.
  10. Click on the Back button to return to the task list.

 

Changing a Task

Changes made to a task don't take affect until after any active mailbox synchronization has completed.

To change a task:

  1. Click on the Edit Task icon icon to the right of the task to be changed.
  2. Change the task as required.
  3. Click on the Save Changes button.

 

Starting / Stopping a Task Synchronization

 

A task is automatically started when it is created. You can manually stop / start it by clicking on an icon to the right of a task. This icon changes depending on the task's started / stopped state:

 

IconDescription
Stop Task iconStops the task from running.
Start Task iconStarts the task running.

 

Deleting a Task

If a task is deleted, the change does not take affect until any active mailbox synchronization has completed. Additionally deleting a task doesn't delete the archived mailbox. This is retained for the duration of your account's retention period.

To delete a task:

  1. Click on the Delete task Icon icon to the right of the task to be deleted.
  2. Click on the Delete Task button in the confirmation dialog.

 

See Also...

 

Attachments

    Outcomes